The Midas Touch

May 7, 2014 § 4 Comments

Horse-head-&-torso-gold ‘Standing To’

Saddle-detail-gold

Standing-To-rear-L-gold

Standing-To-3-4-rear-gold I was lucky to visit the foundry last week and see the cast almost finished, but prior to patination, which if you are new to this like me, is fascinating, bordering on alchemy in fact when you see the gold and rainbow colouring. The complexity of the original wax means that some harness and tack had to be removed and cast or moulded separately and then painstakingly welded back on, whilst keeping the hand-made feel of the original. This was down to Keith at the foundry, thank you very much. www.powderhallbronze.co.uk

§ 4 Responses to The Midas Touch

  • That patina is beautiful. The sculpture itself is very moving, as is that beautiful print of the same subject. Really enjoy seeing your posts, Olivia. Would you mind if I reblogged some of them so that other people whose blogs I like can see them.

    • olivia145 says:

      Dear Cara,

      Lovely to hear from you. You are miles ahead of me on this whole blogging business, and thank you for all your nice comments about the work. Of course you can reblog whatever you like, I wouldn’t know where to start with that but you are clearly an aficionado! Will you put some of your drawings on your blog one day? I look forward to seeing what you are working on, and see you soon too perhaps?

      a beintot!

      Olivia

      > On 08 May 2014 at 14:40 “Olivia Lomenech Gill's Blog” > wrote: > >

  • Reblogged this on caralockhartsmith and commented:
    This is an artist I really admire. Worth checking her blog.

  • Olivia – I realise that reblogging, which I have not done before, messes up the elegance of your presentation, as it appears on my blog anyway, which is unfortunate (it will be fine in other people’s readers, which is how most people will see it). I’ll leave the reblog (ugh) up for a day and then take it down. If this isn’t OK let me know.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Midas Touch at Olivia Lomenech Gill's Blog.

meta

